The penalties for a DUI in Utah, even a first offense, can severely impact someone’s life. Not to mention a life of another’s if there is an accident. Be aware of the severe penalties you may face before you get behind the wheel after you drink alcohol. If you are 21 years of age or older you cannot Have a BAC (Blood Alcohol Level) of over .08%. If it is even .09% you’ll be arrested and thrown in jail, no matter what your previous driving/criminal record is.
For first offenders 21 years of age or older the penalty is 2 days in jail. Second offenders face 10 days and a third offense is a felony; and these are just the jail times--there are also fines, mandated drug courses and drivers license suspension.
For those under 21 the price is also severe, especially for first time offenders. Utah has a “zero tolerance law” which means if you are under 21 you cannot have even a drop of alcohol in your system. If you do, you will have your license suspended for 120 days or until you are 21—whichever is longer. So, whether a car accident is involved or not, if you are 16 years old you will have your license suspended for 5 years, 17- four years, 18- three years, 19- 2 years and 20 years old it’s one year. Many disagree with the law especially considering it can impact a minors life for many years—one strike and they’re done—even if they were just pulled over for a partially obstructed license plate. See KSL article, http://www.ksl.com/?nid=148&sid=10583816, for entire story about minors and drunk driving.
For the best representation and a free consultation in your D.U.I. case Call Terry Spencer.