Your Auto Insurance Will Skyrocket If You Get A DUI
Our State is considered one of the toughest of all when it comes to DUI convictions and vehicle insurance requirements. In fact, following a conviction in the State, the dreaded SR-22 auto insurance is mandatory for a period of three years.
An SR-22 document is also often referred to as a special certificate of insurance for high-risk insurance policies. It is extra vehicle liability insurance costs tacked on that is required by most state Department of Motor Vehicles Offices after charges and convictions of DUI’s and other high risk driving behavior.The Cost of Vehicle Insurance May be Unaffordable
It is quite expensive and maybe even unaffordable for some drivers. Some auto insurance companies will not even offer this type of insurance so your policy will be cancelled and you will be forced to search for an SR-22 policy elsewhere.Insurance Coverage Requirements Become Higher
For SR-22 policies, Utah mandatory liability insurance coverage becomes $25,000 bodily injury per person and $65,000 for multiple individuals. $15,000 property damage liability is also required to cover the increased risk of possible damage to other people’s property if you are involved in an automobile crash. It will cover your legal representation as the insured person.
These high extra insurance costs are in addition to any monetary penalties you may be ordered to pay due to the driving under the influence conviction.
The State of Utah may soon be lowering the blood alcohol content to be convicted from .08 to .05, so it will become even more important for Utahns to be careful if they imbibe and then choose to drive. It doesn’t take much to put you over that limit, but the consequences will be extremely high for you.
If you have questions about the Driving Under the Influence insurance laws, or if you have already been convicted of this crime and need help and assistance, contact the experienced Criminal Law attorneys at T.R. Spencer Law Office at 801-566-1884 for advice and assistance.